“Love your family. Spend time, be kind & serve one another. Make no room for regrets. Tomorrow is not promised & today is short.” Anonymous

Wandspruch_Family_is_Everything_einzelI spent the past week visiting my father in CT after he had been admitted into the ICU.  He has adult on-set diabetes and didn’t know.  His blood sugar had raised to levels almost reaching 900 and he was falling into a diabetic coma with organ failure.  The interesting part about this whole situation wasn’t that my father had fallen ill but the willingness and need for the love of family.

In 2001 and had been tragically burned in a motor vehicle accident that almost took my life.  It was over 2 years before I recovered during which time I never really heard from my dad.  I carried this resentment for many years and had trouble forgiving.  In 2010, we made amends and my father often comments about how the last few years have been the best of his life.

When I was told he was nearly dead and in the ICU, I knew that I was being challenged to be different.  To be there for loved ones when they need us and to do whatever we can to help.  My father was very grateful that my wife, daughter and I made the trip, but not more grateful than myself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

