“Most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.” Abraham Lincoln

Happiness is a choice, on a deeper level it is our ability to accept life as it is and enjoy our experiences.  We have trained our intellect to imprison us in our negative thoughts.  Some of us have had very bad things happen in our lives and at some place deep down we feel that any acceptance would negate what happened.  All this does is fill us with a poison of misery and self pity. Until we understand that this life, although painful at times, is full of wonderful experiences and we have the power to create any type of existence we wish.  We have a choice, we can choose Happiness.

Recently, I was tasked with a diet.  Not your typical diet of changing some eating habits for a short period of time.  This is a diet of the mind.  For 7 days I will be on a mental diet where I can not entertain or dwell on any negative thought.  I gave this great thought last night as I went to bed.  Negative thoughts are always going to come our way but we have the choice to use them to fuel us into a world of cynicism or we can choose to let them pass like leaves blowing in the wind.  For this exercise I will use visual imagery to help me. I am going to think of my mind as a trampoline, and as the negative thought comes in, it will just spring off the trampoline.  If I fail to make it a week, I have to take a day and regain my composure and attempt it again.  Pray for me as I am sure it won’t be easy but I am looking forward to the challenge.  Join me if you like and lets share our experience together.

Happiness

Leave a Reply

