“How pleasant it is for a father to sit at his child’s board. It is like an aged man reclining under the shadow of an oak which he has planted.” Voltaire

  • Stand up for the underdog.
  • You can change the world.
  • Never judge a book by it’s cover.
  • The character of a person is what they do when no-one is around.
  • Humor is the best medicine.

These are some powerful lessons I have learned from my father. My father loves animals, and to see him you would think he was a mean biker dude with no compassion! Let me tell you how this muscular, fully tatted up, hysterically funny, man from Brooklyn feeds all the stray animals in the neighborhood; I was on the phone with him last night, he was at Sweet bay (grocery in Florida) and he was telling me how he spends more money buying all the stray animals food including the birds and squirrels than on his own food now! He knows which type of seeds the birds enjoy what foods the squirrels prefer etc. The stray cats wait for him to come home, they even share the food he gives them with another group of stray cats that comes out later to eat! He said he’s never seen anything like it! I remember him telling my brothers and I a story about when he was in a bar in NY. Some guys brought in a turtle and started hurting it right at the bar. So, my father told them they had better leave it alone or else, well the guys had all their friends there so my father called his crew to come up to the bar to make it even. (my dads friends didn’t know why until after lol they were pissed lol) So a huge bar fight broke out and my dad was able to save the turtle and kick some jackasses butts! I’m not one for violence but when you have to defend the innocent you have to act. Then there was the time when I was in elementary and we were sent home from school because of brush fires in Florida. The police had the roads to our house blocked because the fires were already too close for anyone but firefighters to get in. Our two Pit bulls were in the house and there was no way my father was going to let them burn to death. So, he dropped us off at grandmas house drove back to where the police had the cut off, jumped out of his truck and ran three miles to our house to get the dogs. He said when he got there that there was no time to get anything not even leashes to put on them. They instinctively followed my father and all three of them ran the three miles back to my dad’s truck! He is my hero. What a way to show your children how to love. What bravery. A little over a year ago he adopted a little rescue Pit bull named Martin. Martin was used as a bait dog for Pit Bull fighting. I have placed the link below showing when Martin first was rescued. The pictures are with Martin now in a loving happy home with my father.

My father has taught me many life lessons. He is so passionate about the love and protection of animals (and the underdog in any situation). Now I am as well. I will pass this along to my daughter. Each day I read my 18 month a poster that says “You can change the world.” I believe it, I have seen it. I want her to know that one persons actions do have such a powerful ripple that every choice she makes does matter. I have another poster I read to her, “What you do, shows who you are.” She may not understand it now, but I hope to teach her in the same way my father taught me… through my actions. Love ya Dad! NH

martins rescue

                                    p3

 p1p2

One thought on ““How pleasant it is for a father to sit at his child’s board. It is like an aged man reclining under the shadow of an oak which he has planted.” Voltaire

  1. Regardless of your exact location and specific charter you select, you will be moviing very high in the pool as not to
    spook the holding fish. Hopefully we can start out
    close and not have to despair because they cannot keep their trophy.
    Bruce was having a great time, even if you did call me a ruin!
    I make fishing estes park standard dishes every week, buut I could see it
    was murkier below and the water wass heavy. Pink salmon are easy
    to catch, handle, hold, and release catfish will reduce stress
    and fishing estes park increase survival.

Leave a Reply

