” I always wonder why birds stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on earth. Then I ask myself the same question.” Harun Yahya

  • Streamline your “stuff”
  • Use credit card rewards to their full potential
  • Pay yourself first
  • Think about what you could be spending your money on
  • Reduce bills

I know how easy it is for us to accumulate material items in our house, so I have started selling my old clothes to streamline and save money for the things we really want to do. Selling unwanted items is a great way to add to your travel fund and rid you of unwanted clutter as well. The clothes and shoes I cannot sell I donate to a local womens shelter. I have actually made some great money doing this and completely eliminated the need for storage. It feels good to shed all the extra things I was holding on to for some time.

If you have credit cards try to change them to the cards that earn rewards for travel. We put all our gas on one credit card, pay it down each month, and earn rewards for the traveling we want to do! Small changes make a huge difference.

One of the first rules in personal finances is to pay yourself first. When you get paid, take a percentage of that and have it automatically go to a separate account or bank that you won’t touch or even think about.

I am a visual person so I made a big poster with photos of places for us to travel in the near future, on our office wall. I also put a small picture in my wallet so when I go to buy something it will remind me of my goal and make me question if I need or just want the item I am about to purchase.

Utility Cable…. these can be cut to save money for your dream trip! We are always one phone behind the latest version..and sell our old phones to pay for the newer version.

I, like so many of us, loved to spend money but now that I have something bigger to focus on I don’t have to give in to impulsive spending. I am enjoying knowing that not only do we have money saved to retire, we are taking our daughter to Disney in Oct. Aruba in Dec. and Italy next summer! Whaaat! Yep on one income my friends. It’s not easy at first, I did my fair share of pouting thinking I DO need that 200$ face cream that burnt my face off lol” But baby it’s supposed to reverse any signs of aging!  ;-)”   I now love what a little planning is allowing us to do in our lives for what is truly important. Just because we are young is not an excuse to spend every dime. Also, it is never too late to change poor spending habits. It is empowering to know we are setting our family up for success in the future through our actions today.

fam2

Leave a Reply

